Who We Are

Friends of NCRD is a 501 (c)(3) organized by volunteers dedicated to the support of North County Recreation District. Recognizing the district’s revenues may be insufficient to cover the rising costs of services and the preservation of the facilities, volunteers formed a non-profit organization in 2008 operating exclusively for charitable purposes. The goal is to provide community support through fundraising and grant writing. Organized separately, but in partnership with NCRD, Friends of NCRD believe NCRD provides vital services for youth, families and older adults in the community.

Board members include:

Constance Shimek President cshimek@friendsofncrd.org
Patty Rinehart Vice-President prinehart@friendsofncrd.org
Corrie Persing Treasurer cpersing@friendsofncrd.org
Gail Young Secretary gyoung@friendsofncrd.org
Ed Gallagher egallagher@friendsofncrd.org
Carol Mills cmills@friendsofncrd.org

Currently, fundraising activities include grant applications and sales of fresh, local summer flowers Fridays at Manzanita Farmers Market and Saturday mornings at The Little Apple Market, Christmas paperwhites, and Spring bulbs.  In addition, did you know that you can support the Friends of NCRD when you shop at Amazon? It’s free and easy to set up… learn more here!  The success of these activities has fulfilled current scholarship needs.

Friends of NCRD meets the fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:00 pm;  members and guests are always welcome.

If you are interested in joining Friends of NCRD, contact Gail Young at 503.368.5248 for more information.  Click here to view Membership Application.